The first handle vases complete; or, The Wonders of Glaze!

So, all of the studio work for the winter session was fired, and we gathered en masse for the unveiling today (very exciting results from the new oxidation kiln… I’m looking forward to using oxidation next session.  All of my pieces were fired in reduction still, though, so these colors are one-of-a-kind.)

Here’s the whole studio’s output:

picture-011

Out of which I was able to find my six pieces…

picture-012

Now, before we look at each piece’s close-up, don’t you think we should compare them with how they looked before the firing?  Let’s go piece by piece, shall we?

Remember this piece?  The last of the symmetrical handled pieces…

picture-027

Add glaze:

picture-013

Then we started going asymmetrical…

picture-028

picture-024

picture-023

picture-025

More on that theme…

picture-029

Glazed simply…

picture-017

picture-018

Another asymmetrical piece…

picture-026

Notice especially a happy accident which happened to the bottom of the handle on the left side…  I wasn’t paying much attention on these early pieces to the internal connections within the ribboning.   Look what happened where the handle separated slightly.  I love it!

picture-019

It actually adds support and an airiness that I like…

picture-020

Then we did the over-the-top, God-reaching-for-Adam vase…

picture-030

Glazed (notice how there’s some movement, or slumping, of the handles, which change the relationship a bit, and how the ribboned handles hold glaze, sometimes enough to create a nice glaze drip or bubble)…

picture-021

picture-022

And finally my studio mates convinced me to break away from the linear plane on the handles…

picture-031

Which glazed seems to auger well for the pieces I left for glazing next session, don’t you think?

picture-014

picture-015

picture-016

So there we go.  Thanks, everyone, for the input on glazing.  Let’s see where this new direction takes my work, okay?

Published in: on March 28, 2009 at 4:46 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rustleaire.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/the-first-handle-vases-complete-or-the-wonders-of-glaze/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Neat!!! I like the simple ones the best – I think you should stick to simple, because the complexity of the shapes competes with more complex glazing. Awesome, though! How’d you get them home?

    • With the oxidation firing I will be doing from now on, the colors will be in a palette I think you’ll appreciate. And, surprisingly, once glazed, the handles are very. very sturdy. I wrapped each one in a towel and piled them in two milk crates. Very easy transport.


Leave a Reply

